I found out I really loved programming back in Gymnasiet (Upper 2ndary highschool(?)) when we had a web design course. Of course then we only had to work with html, maybe a little CSS if we wanted to.
I jumped right into it though and got HTML and CSS quickly, and I loved it. Then again, those 2 aren't exactly considered programming languages. When I progressed I found JQuery and Javascript and tried really hard to get going with both, and yea I could pull it off in small ways but at the same time I had no idea what I was doing.
It was still fun though.
I decided there and then that I was going to work with web design (I didn't even know what the difference between web design and web development was), but sadly I was told by someone close to me that you can't get a job as a web designer, and so I went on to study something else for a few years.
After not having done any web design or programming for about 2-3 years I started to realize my mistake and understood more about development vs design: There are tons of web developer jobs out there, and web development is exactly what I want to do! I also wanted to try other kinds of programming.
Thus I started to learn Java, which I liked (most times)!
I applied to university programs in the IT field and got in to my first choice.
I have now been at this program for 2 years, and it took a while before I really could settle back into "I want to work with webdev", because during these 2 years we have worked with a lot of different kinds of programming and programming languages. It's hard to just settle for something when there are so many options, but eventually my love for webdev caught up with me and I've made my choice.
So here I am now, 24(?) years old, wanting to become a fullstack developer but feeling like I am way too late in the game.
The horror of not knowing enough follows me every day. I've been programming for 3 years now (although in many different areas) and I still feel like a noob? Will I ever be good enough? Will I ever be as good as those who have programmed since they were kids?
Is there any point in even trying?
I was hoping the university would help me become a programmer, but that's really not the case, sadly. You just don't learn enough from a beginners course in some programming language + a project course after that.
Believe me, I want to call myself a developer, but can I?
After this last year of university I will try to find a job in webdev, so that I can truly learn what webdev is like "in the real world". Because maybe then I will feel ready to be a true developer.